Any Heavy Metal fans here?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Any Heavy Metal fans here?

I always felt MOTU and Metal went together. Basically after I finished collecting He-Man as a kid I moved on to collecting Heavy Metal albums, drawn in by the imagery (like Eddie from Iron Maiden) at first and then came to appreciate the music.
    "If we don't believe in freedom of expression for people we despise, we don't believe in it at all." ― Noam Chomsky

I'm not only a huge Metal fan, but I'm actually a Metal musician myself (guitarist mainly), however I only consider myself a hobbyist these days, but I still practice and compose whenever I can.

When I was introduced to MOTU, I was a bit too young for Hard-Rock and Heavy-Metal, back then I was into classical, pop, funk and some ethnic world music, however bombastic and renaissance classical music was always on when I used to play with He-Man, or when I used to read the mini-comics or draw some of the characters into cool battle poses and action scenes!

I have to admit, MOTU was one of the initial stepping stones that got me into Metal and dreaming big!... These days, I can easily associate MOTU with the Power and Symphonic Metal genre, it's sophisticated, melodic, fast, heavy and very epic!

Comment

I once climbed down my roof on Christmas night so I could trek 3 blocks to see GWAR when I was 14.
      I finally saw Black Sabbath last year for the first time, awesome.
      “Anything is a dildo, if you're brave enough"
      Thomas Jefferson

Always looking to trade MOTUC to complete my collection.

Comment

• GREP-A-TOR
        GREP-A-TOR commented
        Editing a comment